I love words but rarely listen to lyrics, it’s the melody that hooks me. So either the way I listen to music is changing, or a few of the songs I’ve listened to lately have been exceptionally poetic and lucid (they’re the ones that get me).

I had ‘a moment’ on the train en route to work on Friday listening to ‘The Past is a Grotesque Animal’ by US band Of Montreal.  Their latest album ‘Hissing Fauna, Are you the Destroyer’ chronicles lead singer Kevin Barnes’s break up with his wife. Every line is a kiss or a slap in the face. It’s more a poem than a song and because you know it’s not fiction, there’s something unusually satisfying about it – like an episode of David Attenborough’s Planet Earth made into music. Don’t just put it on in the background. Sit down at least once and give this song your full attention.  

Of Montreal – The Past is a Grotesque Animal – MP3

